Twinless

For Day 2 of the Writing 201: Poetry class. Today’s assignment is writing an acrostic poem about “Gift.” Every capitalized letter makes one whole word. This poem is more somber and personal to me but is also about the greatest gift I’ve had in my life.

276d73cdb92949af69896cb4002948a9

Twins are two halves of one sacred soul.

Wandering the plains hand in hand –physical and beyond–

In every sense of the word you gave me many things: life, love and meaning.

Ne’er a day passes when I don’t miss you; more than the moon misses the sun.

Lying awake in a pit of emptiness, my hollow heart aches for your

Ethereal embraces, leaving me in tears when I wake to my

Solitude yet again, separated until I join you once more.

See the first word for the greatest gift I will never know.

Β© 2015 An Offbeat Bluestocking


Thank you again for reading. Here’s to anyone dealing with the loss of a loved one. For any fellow Twinless Twins out there, there is a support group with the same name on the internet. I am a part of it and it really is helpful in dealing with the loss of your missing half. Cheers.

About ClarissaG

I write what I'm passionate about. I believe in the therapeutic process of writing because it keeps me sane and motivated.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Twinless

  1. So very lovely and heartfelt. Sad, as I too can relate to this. 😦

    Like

  2. Jeanne says:

    So painful to read. I’m so sorry.

    Like

  3. rosemawrites says:

    Aww. 😦 This is sad but beautifully written. Heartfelt.

    Like

  4. A cry from the heart are what your words present. Full of longing, sadness and yet beautiful in its fragility. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Alexander says:

    Thank you for sharing something so personal

    Alexander

    Like

  6. peggyricewi says:

    An honest, vulnerable sharing – beautiful. Love the acrostic. So sorry for your grief – loss is universal, yet personal. Thanks for sharing it with us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

