Together Forever

This is for Day 4 of Writing 201: Poetry. Today’s theme is Imperfect, Limerick and Enjambment. Let me just say that I feel a bit in a creative slump right now; it might be due to lack of sleep and I may be coming down with something.

Anyway, real quick– a limerick is a 5 line poem that follows a rhyming scheme of AA BB A. So the first two lines rhyme, the following two also rhyme and the last line rhymes with the first two.

Enjambment is when you take a regular old sentence like this one and
move it to another line to add some suspense for the reader. Cool right?

Any way, here is my poem about imperfect love.


consent5

Together Forever

My love is always heading for a fall.
He is always so childish
I’m surprised he doesn’t crawl.
Even still,
he melts my heart with his grin.
I ask myself every day,
“Why do I deserve him at all?”

My love acts uppity and standoffish so he won’t get hurt.
But when he’s with me,
he flushes rose each time we flirt.
I walk on eggshells because his mood is temperamental.
When it is us two alone, he never fails to remind me
That he is also gentle.
I am so in love, I need to make it overt!

Our love is tested by our distance.
One where the sun shines, the other
where rain is in abundance.
There are arguments between us from time to time,
But one thing is for certain,
What we find in each other is worth the climb.
We love like each day is our last because we know
this is our only chance.

© 2015 An Offbeat Bluestocking


[Image from here]

About ClarissaG

I write what I'm passionate about. I believe in the therapeutic process of writing because it keeps me sane and motivated.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Together Forever

  1. rosemawrites says:

    Oh this is another heartfelt poem about love. It talks about love over temperaments, differences and distance. Nice one! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

