The Land of Fae

Day 5 is here and it marks the first week of Writing 201: Poetry done! I’m surprised I managed to write poems everyday this week, even when I felt uninspired to do so. I am a novice at this and what I hope to accomplish with this course is to gain more eloquence with my words.

Today’s theme is Map, Ode and Metaphor.

“Whether you choose to write about an actual map, an imaginary one, or just about a particular route that means something special to you, make today’s poem about a space you inhabit (or wish to. Or would rather avoid).”

For this poem, I felt the need to write about my love for faeries and my childlike yearning to visit their world. So if this poem feels a bit more juvenile it is because I was imagining reading it in a children’s book. Enjoy πŸ™‚


The Land of Fae

The road to Fae is quite simple indeed,
It is past the gardens, the rivers and trees.
Once passed the land of In-Between,
you may greet the Faerie Queen.

At first you won’t know where to look,
just beware,
as to not stare,
No, this is from no book.
Nature flourishes all around,
if you hear bells look to the ground.

There they are!
The faeries and sprites!
Watch their dainty wings
glisten in silver moonlight.
Iridescent in their grace,
They give me a dressing gown
made of Queen Anne’s Lace.

To my surprise,
I am no longer tall.
My wish is finally granted,
I need not leave this place at all.

Β© 2015 An Offbeat Bluestocking

About C.G

I write what I'm passionate about. I believe in the therapeutic process of writing because it keeps me sane and motivated. This blog is made up of poems, narratives and other musings.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Land of Fae

  1. peggyricewi says:

    I can picture this so perfectly!

    Like

  2. Vicki says:

    This is so.Robert Louis Stevenson! I love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. rosemawrites says:

    You have written a poem equipped with great imagery and fantasy! Great job!

    Like

  4. Neha Jain says:

    I love your poem. Very beautiful. The rhyme did not feel artificial or put on but just so natural.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. clcouch123 says:

    Like a toddler and a nine-hundred-year-old at the same time? I think I understand. There’s delightful phrasing here, such as “if you hear the bells look to the ground.” “Iridescent in their grace,” another compelling line. Even reading about the “surprise” in “I am no longer tall.” is evocative. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. sgilmore1324 says:

    Awesome post! Glad to hear you’re able to push yourself to write everyday, that’s awesome!

    Like

Leave a Reply

