My Silent Angel

41234_1252161403642_7722652_n

My Silent Angel

Cry down crimson tears

of our past.

Your frayed and burnt wings

shall float down from the

Heavens and shrivel.

Burning in the glorious light

of unrequited Love.

For a kind like I, shan’t ever

survive.

Thine eyes shine with carefree beauty

and mine are dull with heartache.

This torture MUST end soon.

Before there is nothing left.

I want to be free.

To spread mine own golden-feathered wings

and soar above the sun.

Icarus shall envy my success.

Love shall be my Greatest Endevour.

© 2015 An Offbeat Bluestocking


Here’s a poem I wrote 5 years ago; I found it scrounging around my old journals and sketchbooks. I have so many journals it’s unreal! Most are empty and waiting for me to fill them..but I keep buying more because of how pretty they are! (I think I have a problem.) This was written, and I admit, in knowing only a miniscule amount of poetry. My knowledge from that point was that some poems can rhyme, some don’t have to rhyme and they have stanzas. Basic poetry level, maybe even less than that.

After taking the Writing 201 course, I’ve found things in this poem that I wouldn’t have known of 5 years ago. I mean, I used enjambment in here without even realizing it! I used apostrophe as well, addressing the lost love and I even tried my hand at Shakespearean-esque lingo like “thine” and using British spelling.

Hopefully with more practice I will grow as a writer. Maybe.

About ClarissaG

I write what I'm passionate about. I believe in the therapeutic process of writing because it keeps me sane and motivated. This blog is made up of poems, narratives and other musings.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

