Today is mine.

Today is mine. Tomorrow is none of my business. If I peer anxiously into the fog of the future, I will strain my spiritual eyes so that I will not see clearly what is required of me now.

– Elisabeth Elliot

As I was going through the Reader here on WordPress, I saw this quote on the blog by Keira Lennox. I don’t mean to start my post in the same fashion as hers but just as she thought this quote should be shared to her readers, I thought the same.

It was serendipitous reading this quote, as it couldn’t have come at a time when I needed it most. Fall 2015 is proving to be a time of shifting and changes in my life, all for the better…as long as I can keep my head straight. Next weekend is my interview for a graduate program I’m trying to get in and once I got the email, I was stricken with panic and anxiety thinking about things that haven’t even happened (and probably won’t happen). Things like “What if I get lost?” or “What if I say something stupid?”

Thinking negative thoughts only brings negative energy to you and doesn’t give you the chance to take a breath and just be positive. Being positive is easier said than done; it’s natural to worry. It’s in our nature; especially if we’re worrying about wanting to do well on anything, that just means we want to succeed.

Tomorrow is a mystery, it doesn’t exist, so no use worrying about it. All we need to remember is that Today belongs to us. In this time, in this moment, we are in control of what happens.

About ClarissaG

I write what I'm passionate about. I believe in the therapeutic process of writing because it keeps me sane and motivated. This blog is made up of poems, narratives and other musings.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Today is mine.

  1. clcouch123 says:

    Good luck getting into the program. But you’re right and say it creatively: “Tomorrow is a mystery . . .” You’re also right in over-thinking and over-worrying about negative possibilities that will not happen. And if they do, the world–you world–will still turn. But what we know is that we have today, we have this moment. Thanks for sharing the wisdom.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So true… thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

