Kicking off NaBloPoMo!

Wow, this title sounds enthusiastic. It’s late at night, I have the weather channel on tv and some scented candles to make the room smell like a Garden Rain (Thanks Walmart). Today is November 1st (or 2nd, depending on your time zone) and the start to NaBloPoMo or the mouthful version, National Blog Posting Month, is here! Participants can look forward to trying to write a blog post everyday to hone their craft of words.

I had to take a quick pause to watch Great British Baking Show on PBS, I just love that show and seeing all those tasty desserts!

Anyway, BlogHer is still accepting participants until November 5th,so if you’re interested go on and sign up! On the website, there is a list of prompts that are supposed to inspire the writer for that day. Of course they are totally optional but for the sake of my first post of NaBloPoMo, I will follow today’s prompt.

What was the one toy that a friend had that you wished you had when you were little?

As an only child, I had a lot of toys when I was younger. I had a whole roomful that was so dubbed ‘The Toy Room’ because that’s all that was in there. And the writing desk that I still use to this day, but that’s besides the point.

I didn’t have to share my toys with anyone and it was great; everything was mine and I didn’t have to share. However, I rarely played with most of my toys because I was more interested in drawing and painting (with my fingers) and writing in notebooks (more like loop-de-loop scribbling). Since I had no one to really play with I made up characters in stories and drew comics to pass the time. I continued said hobby as I grew older and thus, here I am with a blog. It all goes full circle I suppose.

When I was little, I think I was the kid that had toys that were coveted by other children in the neighborhood only because my parents only had to worry about buying stuff for one child. The other children had siblings to share with so in whatever way it was, my toys were the ones that others wanted. On the rare occasion I’d have friends over and we would play with said toys; but those moments were fleeting and far between. (I nearly wrote fart between)

That’s it for my first NaBloPoMo post, I need to get some sleep for a busy day tomorrow. I should try blogging during the day but finding the time is so difficult…until tomorrow!

About C.G

I write what I'm passionate about. I believe in the therapeutic process of writing because it keeps me sane and motivated. This blog is made up of poems, narratives and other musings.
This entry was posted in NaBloPoMo2015 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kicking off NaBloPoMo!

  1. rosemawrites says:

    Oooh! So this NaBloPoMo… Hmm.. I am thinking if I will join or not! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

