Burning Bridges (NaBloPoMo Day 2)

Today’s post is inspired by a song I have been listening to nonstop the past few days. Bridges by Eivør is like a mix of folk-y and celtic music; very smooth and calming for the ears. (It’s on repeat as I type this.) Her song talks about the various bridges one has throughout their lifetime and how some are more difficult to pass than others. If you care to listen, I encourage you to do so!

In my life so far, I have burned a couple of bridges because those relationships were causing more hurt than anything else. Some thing that I had to learn the hard way was that most friendships have an expiration date and once it’s obvious to both, the damage has already been done. I’m sure some of you have experienced the same pain that comes with lighting the match and turning your back on the burning bridge.

It seems though, that the light from the flames also clears the pathway ahead for you, and the feeling of liberation is overpowering. You no longer feel tied down by the weight of the harmful relationship and you can go on to spread your wings to be the best version of yourself that you can be. I don’t mean to over exaggerate but during times of transition (especially when saying goodbye to people) emotions can be amplified, for better and worse.

My post today is short but I just wanted to get some thoughts out of my head along with sharing my current favorite song with you all! Hoped you enjoyed it 🙂

About ClarissaG

I write what I'm passionate about. I believe in the therapeutic process of writing because it keeps me sane and motivated. This blog is made up of poems, narratives and other musings.
This entry was posted in NaBloPoMo2015 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Burning Bridges (NaBloPoMo Day 2)

  1. clcouch123 says:

    I like the music and hearing why you like it. Celtic on my father’s side (English) and half my mother’s side (Irish), I’m probably genetically obliged to like the songs. But I like them anyway. I’d like them if I were only Native American (I am in part). I’ve burned some bridges, and I’m terrible at it. You have such insight about relationships that cause pain. Have you gotten better dealing with the bridges? I can’t help but feel rude and disloyal. But finally I’ve realized that some relationships take much more than is given, which ultimately matters. And some relationships I’ve had recently have been such an honest drain on my perspective and my energy. So I let them go. But you seem so far ahead in understanding this and accomplishing it. Thanks for the wisdom.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ClarissaG says:

      Wow! Similarly, I am Celtic on my Mother’s maternal side (Irish) and part Native American on my mother’s paternal side. I’m glad you liked the song, I had heard about it on a Celtic podcast recently. If I had gotten better in dealing with the bridges, it would only seem so because of the time it has been since those bridges have been burnt. For some, I still remain in the awkwardness of not communicating because the bridge is still ‘burning’. I do still feel quite insensitive and callous at times but I try to convince myself that this occurrence is better for both parties in the end. Thank you so much, I am honored by your words. I give my credit to the topics at hand since they reveal so much insight as you go along with it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

