Psychic Wrist (NaBloPoMo Day 4)

Today’s post will be a short one only because my wrist is acting up on me. The weather has been unpredictable between humidity and rainstorms. I’m not sure if it’s the air pressure in the environment but my right wrist is always aching when it wants to rain. I don’t know the science behind it. I know that is the only reason why it hurts because I don’t use my right hand for much else, I’m left handed.

Typing with a wrist guard is quite uncomfortable, the only thing keeping me zen is the meditation music I have playing in the background. Anyway, on to the prompt. (Yes, I’ll be following the prompt this time!)

What is the most important lesson you learned as a child, and who taught it to you?

My mother is the main source of the advice given to me, then and still even now. I’m her only child, so it was natural that I would receive all her attention 24/7. That being said, the one lesson I can remember off the top of my head is to always respect myself. She always told me to have self-respect because when I respect myself, others will recognize that. When I hold myself to a higher standard, I strive for the best and nothing less. I do what I can do to the best of my abilities because I have the know how and belief in myself that I can achieve what I succeed. Does this sound cheesy yet?

The wrist guard is officially off, I can’t keep typing like this. I hope it rains soon so my wrist will go back to normal. Does this happen to anyone else? What lessons have you learned? Thanks for reading!

About ClarissaG

I write what I'm passionate about. I believe in the therapeutic process of writing because it keeps me sane and motivated. This blog is made up of poems, narratives and other musings.
This entry was posted in NaBloPoMo2015 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Psychic Wrist (NaBloPoMo Day 4)

  1. clcouch123 says:

    No, not cheesy yet. Self-respect is a lesson and a quality too easily surrendered. The world is always waiting for that from us–to give it up.

    I was diagnosed with carpel tunnel syndrome in my last trip to the doctor’s. Right now, I’m ignoring the diagnosis. And the discomfort. Now that’s cheesy.

    Like

  2. I get the same way when the weather changes and I am pain free when the weather is temperate. Hopefully you will feel some relief soon. I have been aching all over for the last week and finally today I started to feel better. It rained last night and is clearer today.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sorry for the discomfort. Maybe you should rest it up this weekend. Regards

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

