Where I Write

NegativeSpacewritingphoto

One of the joys of writing is that it can be done anywhere. It can be on a classic typewriter, in a leather-bound journal, a blog, or on a napkin (which was how Harry Potter was born so don’t underestimate the ideas scribbled on your napkin).

Nowadays, writers have the chance to be modernized with their preferred writing medium; via their laptop, phone, tablet or any other mobile device. Anyone can write anything at anytime or anywhere. It’s a beautiful privilege we have!

Personally, I usually write on my laptop; on my bed, covered with a warm blanket and some music playing in the background. (Listening to Clocks by Coldplay, just fyi.) Oh right, I’m also lying on my stomach as I write this. It might not be as refined as most but it’s comfortable for me and whenever I have to think I can just zone out in a comfortable position. It works so I continue.

I believe I mentioned once that I tend to update my blog more often at night; I think I have more creative energy when the moon is up rather than during the day. Once it’s already nighttime the chores are finished, errands are done and no one is making calls anymore. Night is the perfect time to unwind and write about the ideas that accumulated during the day.

Now sometimes, when I have a really good idea when standing in line at the bank or grocery store, I don’t want to forget it so I whip out my cell phone and jot down my thoughts on my ‘Notes’ app. That thing really comes in handy for future blog posts or even fiction story ideas.

My ideal writing space would be a lot different than the system I have going on. I would really love to have a cozy spot near a window with a view of the ocean so the seabreeze and the sound of the waves could inspire me and make me feel like a legitimate writer. Just the daydream alone makes me want to sigh…

I’m fine with what I have now but like a writing style, I’m sure my writing space will change in time. For now, I’ll continue lying on my stomach and updating this blog from the comfort under my blanket.


There’s an update to my blog! I’ve now added a ‘Contact Me’ page that can be found underneath my illustrated banner. (Or you can just click here.) If you have any suggestions on what I should write about next, feel free to leave me a message! Thank you for reading!

[Image via Unsplash.com]

About ClarissaG

I write what I'm passionate about. I believe in the therapeutic process of writing because it keeps me sane and motivated.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Where I Write

  1. Kat says:

    Comfort is key! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Can I say that I can imagine myself in your place while reading this post? Clocks by Coldplay is also in my writing playlist. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Mathy says:

    ” I usually write on my laptop; on my bed, covered with a warm blanket and some music playing in the background.” Nice one!
    Even your ideal writing space I’d loved it! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

