Give Thanks! (NaBloPoMo Day 6)

Monday, November 9

What is the first thing you do every single day (I mean, after you hit the snooze button)? When did that step in your routine begin?

So I suppose my generation is known for their integration and growing up with technology as it’s evolved. My morning routine for a long time was: wake up, chectumblr_lfw99eTpOs1qc6qt2o1_500k Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and any other social media I have. To be quite honest, it was draining. I would see people on vacation having a great time while I was at home with morning breath and bed head. Every morning I would unintentionally sabotage my mood right off the bat and then the rest of the day would feel monotonous because I was comparing it to what other fun stuff my friends were doing. It was seriously draining my positivity and high vibrations.

About a tumblr_mpwie1s0fc1qhmhdfo1_500month ago I had watched a movie by Dr. Wayne Dyer called ‘The Shift‘. It is a beautiful movie that really made me change my point of view on life. At the very beginning
they show Dr. Dyer wake up (at 3 AM), stretch and whisper “Thank you”, like a mantra before getting out of bed. That scene had literally “shifted” something in me because now, I’m moved to also say “Thank you” when I wake up. I thank God for giving me another day on this Earth so I may work toward my life purpose, whatever that may be. I thank Him for giving me another chance at spending time with my loved ones, and giving me time to experience life as I choose to.


If you’re interested in watching The Shift, it’s available here to purchase or to stream online. It really is a remarkable movie and offers such great insight to the spiritual side of life.

[Images via tumblr]

About ClarissaG

I write what I'm passionate about. I believe in the therapeutic process of writing because it keeps me sane and motivated. This blog is made up of poems, narratives and other musings.
This entry was posted in NaBloPoMo2015 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

