La Française

A white bird of peace
Flies into the endless skies of blue.
She escapes the red of pain,
Giving hope for the day anew.

© An Offbeat Bluestocking, 2015


I thought of drawing her face with a sad expression, but when she started forming on paper, La Française (The French Woman) didn’t want to look sad. I tried several times to get her frown, creased eyebrow and even a tear, but still she defied me. That’s when I realized, she doesn’t want to be sad. No, she is strong and will be defiant to weakness because that is the last thing she is.

About ClarissaG

I write what I'm passionate about. I believe in the therapeutic process of writing because it keeps me sane and motivated.
This entry was posted in Art, NaBloPoMo2015 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to La Française

  1. clcouch123 says:

    The illustration, the verse, the narrative are all so wonderfully crafted. If I were French (and I am a little, somewhere on my mother’s side), I’d feel remembered. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

