Followed Footsteps

marauders-map1

Image via

I Solemnly Swear That I Am Up To No Good!

An old piece of parchment, hidden from sight,
the pictures bleed out from the worn pages to my amazement.
Wonder and excitement fill my being,
My robes petal behind my legs as I run to explore.

So many footprints, are they real?
There’s the Pavarti Twins, even their steps are in time,
The Weasleys look like a cloud of feet.
This Marauder’s Map is truly a wonder,
So many steps to follow in these halls.

tumblr_nfgfgdFyzI1rrmm4jo1_400.gif

I watch as I pace around my room,
the vanishing steps are dizzying.
This map is a reminder of home,
how this castle is home to everyone.

As long as you know of this place,
You know of it’s secrets and wonders,
then your place is here.
I may find your name in this map,
but don’t let Snape find out!

Mischief Managed!


Harry Potter is my first love, and I don’t really travel so alas, here is my inspiration for Day 17: ‘A map as your muse’. Fictional maps are so great, they make the world just that much more real. I struggled in using a Middle Earth map or a Westerosi map but when it really came down to it, why not just some creative drabble to narrate the use of the Marauder’s map? So that’s exactly what I did. Hope you enjoy, thanks for reading!

 

About C.G

I write what I'm passionate about. I believe in the therapeutic process of writing because it keeps me sane and motivated. This blog is made up of poems, narratives and other musings.
This entry was posted in Creative Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Followed Footsteps

  1. clcouch123 says:

    Fun! Greatly enjoyed. You managed mischief. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

