Moonsong

moonlight_magic_i_by_alexandraf

 

The moon shines over Her domain,
Her soft lullaby whispers in the night
Enchanting those who dream,
Deeper into Her song.

Basked in Her silver light,
The world is at peace.
Under Her guard,
The dreamers may dream.

As the Sun rises,
Her moonsong fades.
The sweet falsetto
That will crescendo once again.

©2015 An Offbeat Bluestocking


 

Inspired by the prompt and picture, I wanted to personify the moon as a guardian goddess of the night who protects all who are sleeping and letting them have sweet dreams. In a perfect world, all would be peaceful, especially when it is time for sleep. I hope this was able to deflect from the harsh reality we face now. Thank you for reading.

Writing 101, Poetry: Day 3: Sleep

Sleep: a world where our thoughts rule.

A place where reality is overshadowed by dreams.

A time when we transport our soul from the real world to the virtual.

For some, the hours we spend asleep, alone and in peace, are the best of the entire day; for others, whether haunted by nightmares or unable to fall asleep in the first place, not so much.

Thank you to Rohit Pandey for this prompt!

[Image via Alexandra F]

About ClarissaG

I write what I'm passionate about. I believe in the therapeutic process of writing because it keeps me sane and motivated.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Moonsong

  1. hooklineandinkwell says:

    this is beautiful…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. _Marielli says:

    Beautiful post lovely image 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  3. amiannforino says:

    Love this! I love the photo in fact I have a similar tattoo. I would like to share this with others on my social media. Can I share with a direct link to your site?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ohh.. I love this one and you picked a great picture to go with it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. rosemawrites says:

    The photo and your words are just enchanting! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Fico says:

    I really liked it, Clarissa. I think it’s well detailed and wonderful to read. The moon as a protector of people and their dreams. I like that.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. clcouch123 says:

    The photo is magical. Tolkien readers would love it (there’s a rendering of a tree like that of Gondor for fans.) The lyric is both magical and hopeful for actual sleeping and waking life. I can easily imagine the verse set to music, say, with piano and song.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

