My Angel

rose_from_the_phantom_by_jinchuruki_gojira

Lingering in the shadows,
guiding you as you bloomed.
A sweet, delicate rose,
untouched of thorns.

You know me, My Angel.
My reflection haunts you as you slumber.
Take my hand into the night,
Follow this ghost deep
within the catacombs of your mind.

Mine Angel, with voice so fair,
cast deep under my spell.
Yet you betray me, my lying Delilah.
You tore off my mask,
you bore my soul.

Curse you, My Angel!
I dreamt of beauty,
only to deserve you.
You denied me,
this carcass rots even now.

Your voice took flight,
He stole your heart.
Your chains are still mine,
Succumb to me.

Past the Point of No Return,
the plan is now clear.
No more smoke,
no more mirrors.

The music is done,
Your voice no longer calls,
The song is finished,
Watch as the chandelier falls.

 

the-phantom-of-the-opera-review


 

 

About C.G

I write what I'm passionate about. I believe in the therapeutic process of writing because it keeps me sane and motivated. This blog is made up of poems, narratives and other musings.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Angel

  1. clcouch123 says:

    As I read this in my head (I could read aloud–I’m the only one here) more than once, the effect becomes more dramatic. This would sound great, recited. (Sorry, I don’t mean to push you to performance). The way words are enjoined to compel the verse, overall–words such as haunts, ghost, and catacombs–plus the subtle couplet-rhyme in the last stanza. You capture the reader and the hearer. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ClarissaG says:

      Thank you! Phantom of the Opera is my favorite musical and I was inspired after listening some of the original songs. I imagined the Phantom’s deep voice narrating it as I typed so if I did it, it might be an injustice to him. All in good fun though. Sure he had his issues but I mainly think he was just misunderstood. Thank you for enjoying this piece.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

