Mama

pjvyzl

Iron wheels screech to a halt
on the frozen railroad tracks.
I stand in front of a place…

Hell on Earth.

A place where color doesn’t exist,
Happiness is forgotten.
Where Death followed and hid,
waiting for His next victim.

I see only white,
The pure snow falling
and the blood that stained it.

My face is frozen,
cold like ice, cold
like my heart.

Mama is torn from me.
I am a mouse,
quiet and voiceless.

I stand alone,
A lifetime’s wait.
Eyes at my sunday shoes,
The ones from Mama.

Black snowflakes fall,
I look up to see.
A smoking tower
surrounded by fence.

I whisper, “Mama”.
She does not
come to me.

 


 

While I was cleaning, I found an old thing that I had written a few years back after watching Schindler’s List. I’ve only seen it once, only because I didn’t know what I was getting myself into when I rented it. I had wanted to watch it because in orchestra we were practicing a piece from the movie; this one here:

I never liked how it sounded when I played it, so I thought to myself that I should watch the film to understand the feeling behind the music. After this film, I definitely felt the sadness within the notes. If I was interested in acting, I probably would be one of those method actors to get the “feel” of a character. It was worth it anyway.

[Image via] from the movie. The Girl in Red.

About ClarissaG

I write what I'm passionate about. I believe in the therapeutic process of writing because it keeps me sane and motivated.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mama

  1. Haunting and perfect picture…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. clcouch123 says:

    Such situations do lose real color except for maybe the color of blood. The victims remember when the world was right though they are “quiet and voiceless.” So true, so often they are treated to lose voice. It’s depressing, yes, but teaching that needs learning. So thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. clcouch123 says:

    Hey, Clarissa G (sounds like a song, “Blues for Clarissa G”), I’ve nominated you for the Dragon’s Loyalty Award. I hope this is all right with you. At my blog (in the entry with the award name in the title) are the rules and the icon for the award. I’ve linked you there as well, as a nominee. You write about the hard things as well as the soft. That is loyalty in writing. And in life. Thanks so much!–Christopher

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

