Je suis humain.

 


street-art-miss-world-security-1372641097ng84k

It is time for peace.
Now is the time to have war cease.
We have not yet been released
Of this torturous, carnivorous beast.

It is time for love.
Let our hope soar like a dove,
Her wings seen by all from above,
So we may live a way we are proud of.

© An Offbeat Bluestocking 2015


A short poem for today, I’m still yearning for peace. The more things happen in the world, the more I’m tempted to believe I was a hippie in another life. Not sure if it’s because of the events happening in the world or the weather, but this year doesn’t feel like Christmas to me. Does anyone else feel like this? Besides things going on in my personal life, I can’t get in the holiday spirit. Decorating the tree didn’t do it, nor did wrapping the presents. I cringed at how expensive eggs were today just to make Christmas cookies. We’ll see if any cheer comes out from making those.

[Image via]

About C.G

I write what I'm passionate about. I believe in the therapeutic process of writing because it keeps me sane and motivated. This blog is made up of poems, narratives and other musings.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Je suis humain.

  1. I know exactly what you mean… I’ve been feeling the very same way. 😦

    Like

    • ClarissaG says:

      I don’t know what to do to get out of this lack of Christmas spirit. Besides going to Christmas mass, I won’t be so torn when the 26th arrives.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I don’t know either… something is definitely missing this year… I didn’t even start to plan for Christmas until this week and even now, I am dragging my feet. I’m just not ready and Christmas will just have to go on without me this year because it’s just not going to feel like Christmas for me.

        Like

  2. clcouch123 says:

    Wonderful title. And I didn’t know eggs were so expensive. Cookies are important for the holiday. I’m delighted you’re so focused on peace. I don’t know if makes you a hippie as much as someone wise. If we don’t have peace, we can’t talk to each other, much less learn to get along. Peace is what our world needs. And, like cookies, it’s vital to the season. So Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ClarissaG says:

      Thank you, surprisingly my Christmas wasn’t as bad as I was anticipating. Perhaps it worked in my favor to have slightly lower expectations than before, because then anything positive picks up the standard right up!

      Liked by 1 person

      • clcouch123 says:

        I’m happy to hear your Christmas had good aspects. You know, with so many pushing expectations way too high, I think your approach was smarter. My Christmas was pretty tame, though it was fine. I had dinner with my neighbors and then drove out to my sister’s, where I am now. Not bad.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. clcouch123 says:

    I hope you don’t mind a second comment here, but I couldn’t find where to respond to you about your response to the award nomination. I know, a dragon, huh? Really great. Right away, I thought you’d like it, too. What you share about yourself is so keenly engaging. The Idea is fantastic that you have a twin who has the extra dimple from your face. The Germans, you know, call that doppelganger, the notion that we have a twin out there. What you like, what’s your style, what happens in your life according to your interest and your situation. It’s all so insightful as well as elucidating. I also have to say that I have never been more and better praised than by you. You catch the very things I try to do. I’m so grateful to have a peer-poet-writer-thinker-interpreter in you. To say the least, thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ClarissaG says:

      I don’t mind at all! Yes, an award with a dragon on it is so perfect, maybe I’ll make one with a fairy on it once I figure out how to create an award. Oh yes, the idea of having a doppleganger is very intriguing, I don’t know how I would react to that! I was referring to my unborn twin who is in Heaven and although I’ve never seen what he looks like (I have a strong feeling my twin is a he) I like to think he’s got the other dimple. All the praise you received is well deserved! It’s a treat to read what you write and it’s also very enlightening. It inspires me to write what’s on my mind as well as motivates me to write out my thoughts more eloquently, as you do. Hope you had a wonderful Christmas!

      Liked by 1 person

      • clcouch123 says:

        I think you’re right about your twin. He’s got it. I’m still riding high from your comments about my efforts. If anything I do is helpful for you–so much the better! I know I admire the openness with which you write about the challenges and processes you are realizing. I look forward to each of your new posts. Hope this week between holidays is good for you.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I have spoken to a number of people who just felt out of sorts this season and when I think it through, I think the emotional wrenching incidents of the year may have contributed to the low spirits that people are experiencing and the anxiety lies in the air. Even your poem has tell tale signs. I understand your feelings. Merry Christmas to you and yours Clarissa.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

