Better Than I Used to Be

2016 has arrived and it’s that time of year to come up with resolutions that I’m going to get tired of come February (or March if i’m resilient enough).

In all seriousness, for this year I wanted to dig deeper for my resolutions and make them something that I will look forward to keeping. I want to have resolutions that will make me grow from the person I was in 2015.

happy-new-year-2016-wallpapers

  • Live by necessity. I’m working on this resolution right now by getting rid of all the excess stuff I have in my possession. Donating old clothes, purses and blankets both go to someone who needs it more than I, and lessens the load I have near me. Who knew having too much was so suffocating?
  • Always make an effort. Whether it’s putting an effort to take out the trash or pushing myself to write an essay, I’m resolving to never not try.
  • Be nicer to myself. Being nice to others is important, but so is being nice to myself. Like the saying goes, I’m my own worst enemy. So this year, I want to change being my own enemy, to being my greatest ally. If I want to love, I have to love myself. If I want to be happy, I have to be happy for myself. Within myself is is the key to how I am to the world.
  • Go with the flow. It’s impossible to control every event that happens in my life, and it’s exhausting to even try. I want to try to let some chips fall where they may, and take charge of what is in my power to do so.
  • Be better. Finally, in general I just want to be a better person than I was this past year. In all senses of the term, this will be something I hope to accomplish but not perfect within the span of the new year.

 

Alas, the first day of 2016 is coming to a close in my part of the world and I am spending it thankfully warm and comfortable. I ended day one painting my room! Goodbye to that crayola green that made up my walls for the past 8 years, hello to the lovely shade of gray that will cover it up. Since it’s a lighter color on top of the green, the undertone now resembles a sort of lavender instead of pure gray…no matter, that will make it unique. Lavender is such a soothing color anyway! I wish you all a very happy new year full of health for you and your family as well as prosperity.

Thank you for reading!

About ClarissaG

I write what I'm passionate about. I believe in the therapeutic process of writing because it keeps me sane and motivated.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Better Than I Used to Be

  1. Love these… You’re gonna have a great year!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. _Marielli_ says:

    Great list and great New Years resolutions for yourself way to go it’ll be a great one 💕🎉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

