Less is More

The first month of 2016 is almost over. Only a little over a week remains, crazy how time flies, right?

I was reflecting on the resolutions I made at the beginning of this month and assessed if I had been following them as often as I wanted to. I’m certainly trying to keep a more positive outlook on life, still keeping reality in check too. Other resolutions I had made for this year (that I didn’t include in my resolutions post) was to exercise more and eat healthier. I know my original and unheard of resolutions may astound you, my dear readers, but I am actually surprised that I’ve kept up on those promises.

I’ve taking up walking, even daring a slight jog when I’m feeling ambitious, and practicing yoga in the privacy in my room. Walking outside and soaking up the natural Vitamin D is the perfect thing for when I’m feeling down or stressed out. Yoga helps bring me back to center and slow down my mind to be at ease. It’s becoming my favorite nighttime routine. Less stress is More energy. I’m participating in Yoga Camp that is on YouTube from Yoga with Adriene, follow her if yoga is something you’re interested in. I recommend her 100%! Her soothing voice and sense of humor helps ease yogis of all levels into the practice and I must say that I look forward to every new video of hers.

Nutritionally, I’ve tried a juicing cleanse that lasted about a day. The juice itself was delicious: a mix of green fruits and vegetables with some lemon and ginger to spice things up. The problem was that there was a barbeque that very same day and safe to say that I gave in to some delicious BBQ.

Not eating is hard. I mean, really hard. I may have only done it for a few hours, but the positive outlook I’ve had was on a downward slope when I had no food. I fought with myself to not snap at anyone I interacted with that day. For me, I have to eat because I love to eat. The problem I have is knowing what not to eat. Can anyone else relate? For the past few days I’ve incorporated a lot more fruits and veggies into my diet and I can already tell a difference in my mood and by what my body tells me. Less fighting and More enjoying.

There is a theme I am trying to communicate to you, do you see it? It helps that I used it as the title..Less is more.

For 2016, I want to keep a minimalist way of living. Less drama is more happiness. Less problems and more solutions. Less material possessions and more space. Space for us to grow and breath into better people than who we are now. I am almost there. Still more clearing out to do but that is soon in the future.


 

I’m officially a graduate student! Today was my first day of class and even though we didn’t do any classwork as of yet, I am still excited for what’s to come. Going through the syllabus was a little overwhelming, if I’m being completely honest, but I think it is something I can handle. It was a year of waiting I had to do in order to finally get to this point, so I think I’m ready now.

What I’m reading right now: Me, My Hair, and I : Twenty-seven Women Untangle an Obsession

24001099

“Ask a woman about her hair, and she just might tell you the story of her life. Ask a whole bunch of women about their hair, and you could get a history of the world. Surprising, insightful, frequently funny, and always forthright, the essays in Me, My Hair, and I are reflections and revelations about every aspect of women’s lives from family, race, religion, and motherhood to culture, health, politics, and sexuality.”

That is a snippet from the front cover of this empowering and enlightening book that I’ve discovered recently! Every essay is different from each other and the voices of these women are so profound, some of their stories had moved me to tears. Who would have thought one could learn so much from another’s hair? I couldn’t help but mention it because of how moving and insightful it is, I can’t put it down. However, I’m trying to make this last so reading an essay before bed will get me a good few weeks with this book.

About ClarissaG

I write what I'm passionate about. I believe in the therapeutic process of writing because it keeps me sane and motivated.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Less is More

  1. clcouch123 says:

    I’m excited for you to be starting school! Sorry, you talk about a lot of other needful matters–revisions to your diet, getting some exercise, choosing less drama in the coming days. The teacher in me, though, is happy for your coming studies. Actually, of course, the other things you’re doing and thinking are only going to help all the rest. You’re building a healthy, complementary lifestyle. Go, you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

