It’s Your Choice

For the average adult, there are 35,000 choices made per day. At first glance, that sounds impossible, right? But when you really think about it, from the moment we wake up to when we fall asleep, we are always consciously making choices.

Tea or coffee? Cereal or an omelette? Which outfit to wear? Should you really have that extra large cookie or a granola bar like you know you should?

How about something less trivial like choosing who gets on your nerves? What if the unimaginable happens and in a moment of carelessness you drop your phone in the toilet? You can choose to be angry about it and let it destroy your day or just shrug it off and realize that you’ve been wanting to get a new phone anyway.

Who we are right now, in this moment, is because of the choices we have made so far.

As the greatest wizard ever (besides Merlin) had once said:

harry-potter-quotes-dumbledore-dreams-i13

 

No truer words have been spoken. So what if you are highly intelligent and have the cure for cancer? What matters more is what you decide to do with that knowledge and innovation. What a person chooses speaks volumes about their character.

What if you wake up feeling depressed? Traffic get you in a bad mood? Or maybe the waitress got your order wrong and you left feeling sour that she made a mistake.

Something worth practicing is trying to make a choice not to let external occurrences affect your mood.

Of course it’s easier said than done, as it is with anything else. As long as you are aware of the choices you make, good or bad, that’s a step in the right direction. Maybe read something inspirational or put on your favorite song when you wake up to fight the morning blues. If you’re stuck in traffic just postpone your anger for a few seconds and see if it’s really worth getting your blood pressure raised. And if you didn’t like what the waitress gave you, at least you tried something new and decided you had a reason not to like it in the first place.

split-pea-soup-800

It looks good here but pea soup is definitely something I don’t care to try. 

It’s your life, so do what you want! You have the ability to make choices about your emotions, so choose to have positive emotions. If being happy is too much of a stretch, then at least choose unhappiness.

“But I can’t help it when I’m sad/upset!” 

I beg to differ, there is plenty you can do to fight the emotions that make you sad/upset in the first place. What thoughts made you sad/upset in the first place? Do you have to let them make you feel those emotions?

The way I see it is, whatever goes through your mind is created by you. No one else has control over your thoughts or feelings; we all have our free will, we are all independent.

You have control over your thoughts and your feelings come from your thoughts. So what does that mean? You have control over your feelings too! Amazing, right?

All of this ties back into choosing what thoughts to have. Or at least, choosing your reaction to the thoughts you have, like the phone example.

Just remember that you are responsible for yourself and how you feel. You can choose to be happy, even when you’re dealing with a multitude of problems. Happiness is not an absence of problems, but the awareness of those problems and having the motivation and strength to deal with them.


 

Hi everyone! Can I just say that reading for leisure is going to be nearly impossible now that I’ve gone back to school? Between textbooks and other assigned reading, it’s going to take some serious effort to just get some reading done for fun. How exhausting!

My first week of grad school is officially done and I’m anxious to see what will happen in the coming months. I’m willing to give it my all and choose to make it a positive experience! I have to keep my promise and try to live my life to the fullest.

How is everyone doing? Reading anything interesting? Let me know, I love knowing what you all are up to. I thrive on human interaction so I won’t become a studious hermit.

About ClarissaG

I write what I'm passionate about. I believe in the therapeutic process of writing because it keeps me sane and motivated. This blog is made up of poems, narratives and other musings.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s Your Choice

  1. Fico says:

    Hey Clarissa! Nice to see that you are doing well in your grad school adventures. I’ve been very distracted with the job search that, I’ve not written anything. Like I said I wouldn’t allow; but it’s very important for me to get the job quickly. But I’m doing good, not been reading either, sadly. I really liked your post today, and it definitely is a bit to think about, but I disagree with one thing. You said that we can control how we feel and that the statement “we can’t help how we feel” isn’t true is a little untrue. Say you lose someone you love, is that person really at a point to choose not to be sad? I would think that this would be automatic, but I do agree that if you feed yourself with negativity, your outcome can sort of look that way as well. But I feel that, you can’t be something when things are pointing the other way sometimes. But that is just me. I’m happy to see you are still dropping wisdom for us. Take care 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • ClarissaG says:

      Hi Fico, glad to hear you’re keeping up with the job search. In the case with what you said, about choosing not to be sad, that is not necessarily the way to choose how you feel about a loved one’s death. The death doesn’t make a person sad, but when you find out about it ; what you tell yourself of the event of their death (e.g “It’s sad they’re gone) is what makes you sad. Your feelings stem from your thoughts. I hope this makes a little more sense, of course it’s alright to disagree 🙂 Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. clcouch123 says:

    Dumbledore is correct, naturally enough. It is our choices that make up who we are. And Merlin’s teaching I often consider. (From above, there are no borders to be seen on earth. From The Once and Future King.) My nephew, who’s an undergraduate, loves to read. And we swap titles all the time. But I try not to push that exchange while he’s in school. If he gets some reading in for fun, that’s great. If not, understandable. I know next to nothing about J. K. Rowling’s novels for adults. Maybe they would be enjoyable and complement whatever time you have. Mainly, it’s so great you’re in your program. You have so much to bring to it. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ClarissaG says:

      I love that quote! It really is thought-provoking that’s based on perspective. When one is on the ground, sometimes all you see are borders. Thanks for sharing that. That’s very considerate of you, keeping in mind what your nephew has to read for school. I’m sure he would appreciate what literature you would have to offer as well. I haven’t read any of Rowling’s more adult novels either, but I hope to read some when I have free time. I’m usually attracted to fiction but I’ve surprised myself to find that I enjoy more “adult” non-fiction books as well. Thank you, can you tell I’ve been learning things already? That’s what inspired this post. I think in a way, writing something pertaining to things I’ve learned will help them stick.

      Liked by 1 person

      • clcouch123 says:

        Yes, I can tell. And as an educator I may say that writing will help things stick–simply through repetition. But since you ingest and reflect on what you experience and then write about, I believe I may also say that what you write will dig down even further. Sometimes I’m pleasantly surprised when my nephew is reading something for school that I’m familiar with outside of school, such A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson. He read that for a class on the environment. I hope you have a terrific week!

        Liked by 1 person

      • ClarissaG says:

        Thank you, I hope you do as well!

        Like

Leave a Reply

