Hot Chocolate & Studying

Happy Wednesday, everyone! It’s just past 10 pm here and it’s 39 degrees F outside. So, I’m in my fleece robe with a cup of hot chocolate and using this time to wind down and enjoy some writing.

As most of you may know, I’ve just started graduate school and am trying to get back into the habit of studying while balancing the rest of my life (exercising, relaxing, sleep…). I’m taking two courses and each only meet once a week so I’m trying to find a good balance of studying while not being a hermit. It’s so hard to not be a hermit, especially for me. I have to force social interaction otherwise I won’t get out of bed.

One of my blogger friends (I see you, Michelle!) suggested that I share my experiences of the graduate school process. Maybe I could even give it a fun name like “Adventures in Grad-land” or something like that. It’ll be a work in progress. Anyway, I really liked her idea and decided to give it a go.

I’m in the middle of my third week in the counseling program and I’m still in awe that I’ve made it this far. It still feels like a dream almost, but when there’s a test, that’s like my pinch to wake up!

Since I’ve only just started, I’m taking introductory courses this semester, one of them being the main Intro to Counseling course. I’ve always had a hard time learning things in “Intro” classes because it has a little bit of everything and can be scary if you let the material overwhelm you. I love studying on my own because I’m a very auditory and visual learner so my method of learning is writing the information down and repeating it to myself. I rarely use the library for this purpose, I don’t want to scare the other students by letting them think some crazy girl is talking to herself in a study cubicle. So home study is my way to go!

 

 

image

Evidence of said note-taking. Spirals serve as good tables for hot cocoa mugs. πŸ™‚

My handwriting isn’t all that neat, and for some reason I combine cursive with print..does anyone else do that? Any graphologists out there that can tell me what that means about my personality? I’m curious to know!

With quizzes every week, it’s a lot of pressure to get all the information in my noggin and make sure it doesn’t get jumbled up (because that has happened in the past). I think I’m doing quite well though, I scored an A on my first quiz and I am fairly positive that I did well on the others too.

For my other class which is called Personal Growth, it is quite interesting to say the least. It’s a course where the students will spend most of our time and energy delving deep within ourselves to see our own faults and strengths and just know who we are and what makes us tick. We even have to take counseling sessions which I believe is a great assignment. How can we be expected to counsel someone if we never had counseling ourselves?

Needless to say, I cried my eyes out in my first session. They were healing tears though, so I think I’m headed in the right direction toward my own self-improvement.

Besides our mental and emotional wellness, my professor is also emphasizing physical wellness and assigned us to run a track for 30 minutes and record how we did.

I’m not a runner, but enjoyed my time walking briskly and feeling energized afterward. If we have more of these assignments, I’ll be glad to say my resolutions are keeping intact well into the new year!

So far for the most part, I’ve had positive experiences in my classes and look forward to learning and sharing more with you all. Time to sign off and study some more before bed.

Cheers!

 

About C.G

I write what I'm passionate about. I believe in the therapeutic process of writing because it keeps me sane and motivated. This blog is made up of poems, narratives and other musings.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hot Chocolate & Studying

  1. MARI says:

    You have lovely handwriting!! Best of luck with your new courses 😁 you got this girl!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. clcouch123 says:

    I agree with both Mari and you. Your handwriting is good, and its legibility is key. I’ve mixed up some print and cursive letters in dealing with really bad writer’s cramp (and being left-handed). Your experience with your courses sounds great. You’re responding to assignments and challenges in a full and open way. You have enthusiasm about everything which is not merely the excitement of starting. It’s a feeling and an approach that should stick. I’ve used wire steno-pads for years and never thought of the ideal purpose they serve, as platforms for cups of hot chocolate. Thanks for such detailed sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I see you too! πŸ˜‰ I’m so glad you decided to write about your grad school experience. I’ve been out of school for so long and this brings back fun memories for me. I think the counseling sessions are a great idea and I normally don’t like running either, but lately I have been finding myself enjoying it more. Keep up the good work in your classes and make sure you keep a plentiful supply of hot chocolate. Have you ever tried the Junior mints hot chocolate. That’s a favorite around our house. Yum! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

