Self Love

Although the official day for love has passed, it’s never too late for love; especially for loving yourself.

Is it easy? No.

Is it possible? Always.

In my class readings, we’ve been going over wellness. In general, it’s about making sure a person is at their optimal health; physically, psychologically and spiritually too. I appreciated that the professors set up these particular readings for this week, reading about self-love on the week of Valentine’s Day here in the U.S.

Personally, it’s hard to love myself everyday. The way I look could be different, the way I eat, the way I live, dress, talk..it all could be different. But if it was different, none of those things would be me. But changing things I’m not happy with, like the way I eat for example, and focusing on optimizing it for my own wellness is part of my self-love.

fortunes

Maybe even when reading this, you’ve made a list of things you don’t like about yourself. No matter how serious those things are, they are what make up you. I’ve learned that self-love is achieved by accepting who you are and being aware of what you may want to optimize in order to better your wellness.

It’s easy to just go through the motions of not loving yourself the way you should; it means it’s less risky for change. It’s known, it’s comfortable to just not love yourself as much as you should. However, it’s not something you deserve. You deserve to be loved. I deserve it. We all do.

 

As long as you love yourself, then you’ll always be loved. 

I love you. Now, you love you.


 

Hi Readers!

Something else I’ve learned this week..I’m bad at keeping promises. The first week I try to write twice a week and it goes south..ah well, maybe I’ll keep it up this new week. I’ve started with this post, right?

My workload has been piling up, now I have papers to write! Yay, grad papers! I feel like my enthusiasm will fade by next term. But…we’ll see. I haven’t lost interest yet and that matters for something.

Anyway, I hope all of you enjoyed your Valentine’s week. Mine was enjoyed with family as well as some homemade chocolate covered strawberries, frozen key-lime pie and lavender roses.

Some lavender roses 💜 for #vday

I would have included pictures of the pie and strawberries but they’re long gone in our bellies.

That’s all for now! ❤

 

About C.G

I write what I'm passionate about. I believe in the therapeutic process of writing because it keeps me sane and motivated. This blog is made up of poems, narratives and other musings.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Self Love

  1. clcouch123 says:

    I enjoy your words, whenever they arrive. How many times you write is less a concern. I do appreciate your applying what you’re reading to yourself and then to us. I think we can relate to what you say about self-love. It’s the second part of the second great commandment and of the Golden Rule. But I, for one, am easily my harshest critic. I should ease off of that and own up to what I do like about me.

    Your Valentine’s celebration sounds grand. The flowers look distinctly lovely, being lavender. I can think of no more likable loss than that of a photo of the food, because the food had disappeared in joy.

    Have a grand week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ClarissaG says:

      Thank you, and you know what, I was rather hard on myself for not keeping that promise of writing more frequently. But I figure as long as I keep writing that’s okay too. Quality over quantity, right? Owning up to like yourself is the first step to full self-love! I’m getting there. Thanks for reading and you enjoy your week too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yep. Loving you first is where it starts and remains the most important.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for this great reminder! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. rosemawrites says:

    Chocolate covered strawberries! ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

    Thank you for the great reminder, Clarissa!

    Like

Leave a Reply

