Promises.

I don’t know why I keep making promises I can’t keep.

I did it on this blog about when I would update again and I failed to keep it up. I’ve similar promises in the past. When I don’t keep a promise, I feel like a liar. Maybe other people feel like this too.

Where does this need to guarantee something come from? Why do I feel like I have to promise you something and then not follow up on it? Even though I realize “Oops I haven’t update in weeks” I still don’t try to fix that by updating as soon as I can. I just let it go longer and longer and then it gets to the point where I feel it doesn’t matter what I do anymore. It turns into a form of procrastination that festers into a depression of “No one cares what I write about anyway.”

I’ve learned that by talking to myself (not in a creepy way but in a therapeutic way) helps turn my negative words into encouragement. I care what I write about, that should be enough, right? Writing for myself is what got me to start this blog in the first place because it has proved time and again that it has been like a therapy for me. I know it doesn’t just affect me, that’s why so many people write in the first place.

During my hiatus, I’ve been finishing up my first semester of graduate school.

I survived.

I neglected the blog during these last few weeks but I hope to put in more work into writing more during the month I have off before starting another class in the summer. I won’t make any promises but it will still be a goal.

We’re not promised tomorrow or even what will happen in a few hours.

So instead of promising something, I’ll just see you when I see you with a new blog post.

Thanks for reading ā¤

 

About ClarissaG

I write what I'm passionate about. I believe in the therapeutic process of writing because it keeps me sane and motivated. This blog is made up of poems, narratives and other musings.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Promises.

  1. Blogging can really be demanding and with so many other things fighting for our time, it’s really not easy at all.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. clcouch123 says:

    Clarissa, good to hear from you. You’re completed your first term. Congratulations! When I first started having trouble with my heart, I began to learn that obligations I thought I should keep would have to become more fluid (less rigid) to do or else I wouldn’t get anything done for stressing over what I should have done by now. You’re focusing on the right things in the right way. Whenever you post here is good. No schedule grid is needed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ClarissaG says:

      Thank you! What you have described is what I’m feeling in a nutshell. You hit the nail on the head. Instead of driving myself crazy with guilt I just need to go with the flow and be more fluid as you say. Thank you šŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Glad to have you back and looking forward to whatever you decide to write about in the future! šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

