I stress, eustress, we all stress!-Mental Health Awareness Week: Day 1

How many of you reading this right now are stressing about something? It doesn’t matter how big it is..as long as you’re stressing about it. There are so many things to stress about, it’s hard to pick just one, right? Stressing about finances, family, relationships, health, politics, the environment..the list can go on and on.

The good news is: not all stress is bad. Eustress (you-stress) is the type of stress that pushes us to do well. It’s a good stress that all humans need.

Like all things however, there is bad that goes along with the good. When there is too much stress, so much that it immobilizes you and traps you in a cycle of negative self-talk, that is when it gets bad.

I think we can all agree that everyone will have stress in at least one point of their lives. The question is: how do we deal with it?

For all of us who are somewhat sane after varying amounts of stress, good job. We’re still alive and living life a day at a time. It’s not easy but it is not impossible either.

I can’t tell you how to handle stress, coping with stress can be different for everyone.

Practice yoga.

Meditate.

Read a book.

Do something you love.

These and more are good strategies to take a break from the stress but there is always a chance of it creeping back into your brain…at least it does that for me. I get these bipolar moments of not worrying about anything and then stressing over every minute detail to my breaking point where I can’t even begin to explain how I get. I am not at my best when I am stressed out. I get irritable, angry, frustrated, anxious and hopeless. When I am stressed, these emotions not only affect me, but the people around me.

The theme for this year’s Mental Health Awareness Week is: relationships.

In more ways than we know, stress can affect our relationships. We can either take our anger out on our loved ones, or distance ourselves away from them.

When I am stressed out, I cannot think of anything except dig my stress-hole deeper and deeper. The more I stress about something, the more I can’t focus on finding a solution of my problem. I am not in a clear state of mind when stress clouds my judgement so I am stuck. Stuck in that hole of negativity and pain from the symptoms of stress.

It might be helpful for you to talk to someone about the stress you are experiencing, it may not. All I want to say is that stress can go away as long as we can learn how to cope with it and in turn, control it so it won’t control us.

I invite you to share your own experiences with stress and how you deal with it. Mental Health Awareness Week for the month of May originated from an organization from the UK. Regardless if you’re from there or not, the point of this is to bring awareness and start a conversation about mental health. Let us do just that!

Thank you for reading and see you in the next post.


If you would like to learn more information about mental health, here are some helpful links. Here is where you can learn more about Mental Health Awareness Week and here is the website for the US based mental health organization.

mhaw-tile-relationships

May is mental health month. Go green in support of stopping the stigma!

mentalhealthaware

About ClarissaG

I write what I'm passionate about. I believe in the therapeutic process of writing because it keeps me sane and motivated. This blog is made up of poems, narratives and other musings.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I stress, eustress, we all stress!-Mental Health Awareness Week: Day 1

  1. clcouch123 says:

    So it’s a real world, eustress. Well, then you define it clearly as well as use it cleverly. Your words about stress are direct and useful. I can appreciate digging the hole deeper, as stress worsens. What helped me, finally, was counseling and medication. And learning how to reconfigure my attitude toward life–from the inside out.

    Thanks, Clarissa! I hope you are really well. And your studies, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ClarissaG says:

      Thank you for sharing, Christopher. I found that counseling and yoga helps me. I just need to make the latter a habit so it can be of better help. I have a month off before class starts for the summer so I’m taking a rest from my studies. Thanks for asking!

      Like

  2. This is quite insightful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

