Making Brain-space

If there is something that I have personally learned through writing, it’s that it gives me a chance to organize my thoughts. Before I even start typing I envision my thoughts jumbled into this large ball of tangled sentences just waiting to be unraveled word by word like a string of yarn. So after being caught up in summer classes these past few months, it had taken me a weekend with nothing to do to realize that I had a lot of clutter in my mind.

I just finished a YA novel (Letting Ana Go by Anonymous. It’s intense and insightful) and in it was a quote where the narrator mentioned that writing cleared her mind and created “brain-space” which made her feel more relaxed. As I have blogged about this in the past, I realized that when I write I create brain-space too; I get that feeling of relief after writing about my thoughts and emotions.

I always want to write about so many things, most of my posts are about multiple topics. It may be scatter-brained or compartmentalizing, I don’t know.

So what is this post about?

Relief that I get two weeks off before the Fall term starts? The stress that I have been suppressing which has clearly had effects on my skin? The fact that everyday I want to save the world and do all the things while I currently have the energy of a potato?

14089236_930041067140308_4511152922608418520_n

I think I just want to write about writing (at least in this post) and how good it feels to write.

I want to write stories and poetry and mistakes that I have made so that others won’t have to go through the same pain. Just as reading is, writing is a form of healing.

Wow, I’ve been writing about writing…maybe next post will have some substance!

I realize this blog I’ve created is available to the public, and because of it I have made some dear friends who are so talented and passionate about writing but I also keep this blog as a sort of journal for myself. I keep it so whenever I doubt myself or forget why I bother writing, I can read these posts and become inspired again. I never want to lose this magical feeling of clacking away at my computer in the late-night and clearing away the word/yarn ball in my brain.

My brain-space is cleared up…time to fill it with other things.

Thank you for reading!

 

About ClarissaG

I write what I'm passionate about. I believe in the therapeutic process of writing because it keeps me sane and motivated.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Making Brain-space

  1. ~M says:

    Hey Clarissa, been missing you… enjoy your two weeks off. Always love to read your updates. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. clcouch123 says:

    Writing about writing. Seems substantial to me. Though self-expression is enough of an aim, I think. The energy of a potato–hmm, don’t potatoes get clocks working? Feeling without energy, certainly, is understandable, human, and (again) enough. Congratulations on completing your summer term. I’m happy to hear that you’re anticipating the fall term, too, as challenging as it might be. I’m teaching part-time right now and trying to wrap up my summer term. And then the fall session starts. Hopefully–in a tangential way–without the burden of this summer’s heat wave. Great to hear from you, Clarissa! Be well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ClarissaG says:

      Thank you for your input,Christopher! I very much appreciate and look forward to reading your thoughts. I quite agree about the potato, now that you mentioned it in a different perspective..very wise! It seems there is hope for me yet. I hope your teaching is going well and much luck to you in the fall session! For now, things are looking bright. Swell to hear from you again and take care.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: A Reading Writer’s 2-Year Journey – A Reading Writer

Leave a Reply

