Ch-Ch-Changes!

As I was talking with a friend yesterday, she told me that I was much more positive than I was before. Usually, I don’t associate the word ‘positive’ with my attitude. I’m no Negative Nancy but I liked to think that I was a realist.

Right after that comment she asked about how my classes were going. I thought to myself, ‘maybe the program is changing me?’ Could I have been changing throughout the Counseling program and not even know it? That must be it because it took someone else to notice a change before I recognized it within myself.

I find it interesting how such changes can be so covert, so deep in our subconscious, that we don’t even know we are changing until we are already changed. At least, it was unconscious for me because I know I wasn’t actively trying to change.

It’s a bit unnerving to think about however it is reassuring that positive changes can be so easy. My professors have always said that the program changes their students by helping them be more open, empathetic and understanding. I guess it helps with positivity too.

Well, if it is true that I’m more positive, then it means that one of my new year’s resolutions actually stuck throughout the year!

Whether changes happen through reframing by repetition or brainwashing (joking) then it really means anyone can change as long as they are open to it.

Anyway, this is as much writing as I can get in for now..I hope to update with something creative soon! Also…it’s almost time for the one year birthday of this blog! Something for that is in the works so stay tuned!

I hope you all have a lovely and safe weekend and see you in the next post!

________________________________________________________________

I wanted to share an update of a special something I bought at the bookstore yesterday. Look at this beauty!

img_2918

This is a lovely leather journal that was handmade in Italy. The pages are lined with raw cut edges and best of all it was on sale for 50% off..I had a coupon for 15% off so I got it for 65% off! It was around 12 US dollars which was a good deal after closer inspection of the quality of this journal. I couldn’t stop smelling it once I brought it home. That’s not weird right? I love the smell of leather and paper. The cover has gold accents and the spine has an antique book vibe.

img_2921

I own so many other journals BUT they are mostly empty. I never know what to write in one because I want the contents to be worthy enough for such a beautiful vessel! I wouldn’t want to use it as a diary because I never know what to write about on a day to day basis. Maybe something more creative? If anyone has any suggestions, please let me know! I’m itching to start writing in it!

 

About ClarissaG

I write what I'm passionate about. I believe in the therapeutic process of writing because it keeps me sane and motivated.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Ch-Ch-Changes!

  1. mterrazas32 says:

    I have the same issue when it comes to writing in my journal. What to write about? Write about your day, or week. Is there something that made your happy or angry? Or I sometime like writing a quote that I see on instagram that connects with me. if I can’t think of anything to write, I just doodling. If you are on instagram do a search for #dndchallenge. Every month they have a list of challenges where you doodling it or write it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. clcouch123 says:

    Goodness, the journal is beautiful. Smells of leather and paper are good. You could start by writing in the words about the journal you share above. Or write a poem as if you were inserting it in the margins of something more serious you have to write. That’s what I often do. I think you’re right; change is “covert.” That’s a good word for it. We change and then we realize we’ve changed, often through words first given by others. At least that’s what I’ve experienced. Especially when the change looks good (literally) and is good (substantially). Thanks for your good wishes. I return my own wish for safety. It appears that you are thriving through your studies. I’m sure it can’t always feel that way (what can?), but I’m happy to hear or see that you do and are so well. Peace, Clarissa!–Christopher

    Liked by 1 person

    • ClarissaG says:

      Oh I do like that idea! Sounds like I’ll be telling the journal I appreciate it and hopefully that will set the mood for more positive writing. Thank you for your well wishes, and yes, I am enjoying my classes! Peace back to you, Christopher.

      Like

  3. rosemawrites says:

    oh wow. love the positive change that is coming your way, Clarissa! And that journal is lovely. I think you can write your poems or stories there. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You know it’s possible that your conscious writing – blogging has helped to bring about more positive energy within you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

