Celebrating An Offbeat Bluestocking’s 1st Birthday!

Technically WordPress considers it an anniversary but you know…any reason to celebrate!

happy-1st-birthday

Happy 1st Birthday to my blog-baby!

It is hard to realize that an entire year has passed by. The only way I can believe it is because I can look back to my older posts and see how much I have grown as a writer, a student, and a human being.

I tried to expand my creativity into other avenues and go beyond my comfort zone by joining groups like Poetry 101. I learned, I was challenged and best of all, I enjoyed it thoroughly.

I was at a low point when I started this blog. I had just about finished a year of doing nothing after graduating from college and was starting to feel that my bachelor’s degree was just an expensive wall decoration. I was rejected from a graduate program and took that year off mainly for self-pity. I felt like I had failed myself and my family; everything I worked hard for screeched to a halt with a resounding no. 

An Offbeat Bluestocking gave me something to do…it took my mind out of the harsh reality of my failure and self-loathing just enough to find pleasure in writing again. Sure, I had a fear of rejection again. ‘Maybe I suck at writing?’ ‘What if no one reads it?’ ‘What if no one likes it?’  But despite all that, I started it anyway. I wrote about my thoughts, wrote poems and ‘blurb’ narratives because in the end, this is my blog and I can write whatever I want.

I write what I want to read.

After this blog was started, slowly the pieces of my life were coming back together. I got accepted into another graduate program which now seems like a better fit. Who knows, maybe I will still reach my same endgame if I so choose.

One thing I did learn was that life is not a straight line from point A to point B. There are forks in the road and loop-de-loops and webbed lines that are tangled so close that you can’t be sure there is even a way out. But once you do finally make it, you see there is a way out. There always is.

Indeed, I’ve had some highs and lows this past year and having this small piece of electronic real estate has made me learn not only about myself but from others here as well.

These talented and beautiful writers are people I look up to and consider to be my friends.

Rosemawrites from A Reading Writer

You were the first person to connect with me after I joined WordPress and I just wanted to say thank you for reaching out and saying hello! I am so glad I was able to connect with a fellow millennial on this platform. Your writing and dedication to it is inspiring and I hope to not procrastinate so much so our shared love for writing (and reading) can grow! Thank you.

Jacqueline Oby-Ikocha from A Cooking Pot and Twisted Tales

Lovely Miss Jacqueline, I see you as a great inspiration and hope to write with as much passion as you do! Thank you for your friendship and feedback. You are always so encouraging. I read your wisdom in your writing and cannot help but feel enlightened with your words. Thank you.

Michelle Cook from Putting My Feet in the Dirt 

Michelle, what can I say that I haven’t already said? Your writing touches my soul in such a way that I feel like I know you although we never met. Our shared faith in God is something I appreciate because in the world we live in today, sometimes all we need is a little faith. Your feedback and messages always bring a smile upon my face and I look forward to many more! Thank you.

Christopher Couch from ClCouch123

Christopher, I want to say thank you for deeply insightful messages of feedback. Your writing makes me think, and I enjoy that! You are a kind and deep soul who writes about the important things going on in the world in such a beautiful and lyrical way that I wish everyone could read your poetry. I appreciate your words of wisdom and encouragement. Thank you.

Fico from Fico’s Gaming Mind

Fico, it has been a pleasure getting to know you through your writing. I enjoyed meeting a writer who shares gaming interests like I do! (although yours are at a higher level than mine, I’m sure.) We collaborated on a post together and shared a similar mindset about writing on the internet. I hope you continue to write because you find joy in it. For being my friend and fellow writer I say: Thank you.

To all of you, I want to tell you that you are all inspiring and gifted writers and people that are enlightening others through your writing. I know this because I am one of those so lucky to read your works. I hope that with this passing year our experiences here can continue to be positive ones!

Now for some closing thoughts:

I am looking forward to this new year of activity on An Offbeat Bluestocking! Not making any promises that I will post every day..I’m still getting the hang of balancing school with real life and writing. However, I am going to push myself to write more and to become more aware of inspiration in places I might not have seen before.

I hope to write more poetry and more therapeutic pieces that not only help myself but others as well. I can’t make plans for the entire year but I can plan for right now.

Right now it is time to enjoy life right as I’m living it.

Thank you everyone so much for reading this special birthday post!

(Here’s looking forward to the second birthday!)

 

About ClarissaG

I write what I'm passionate about. I believe in the therapeutic process of writing because it keeps me sane and motivated.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Celebrating An Offbeat Bluestocking’s 1st Birthday!

  1. ~M says:

    Aww… Clarissa! Such a special note! Thank you so very much…. your words really made my day! Congratulations on your one year anniversary with WordPress. It’s hard to believe that it’s been that long already! Have an amazing weekend and yes…. enjoy life…. one sweet beautiful day at a time! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a beautiful note Clarissa. I feel privileged to have connected with you in this space and appreciate your support. Congratulations on celebrating your first blogiversary. It’s really not easy to stick to it and you’ve done so. Here’s to many years of drilling out beautiful words.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. clcouch123 says:

    Happy Birthday, An Offbeat Bluestocking! Yes, it’s more fun to think of in a birthday way. I’m grateful for your, well, being grateful. Wait, what? Hmm. You’re welcome, and Thank you. I’ve enjoyed getting to know you through your blog entries and what you share in corresponding messages. I’m thrilled that you’re where you are right now and to have experienced something of the journey with you. Not that ups and downs won’t continue, because they will. But the direction and even the pace that you’re moving in right now sounds and (if I may say) feels substantial and promising. Thank you for your appraisal of my work. I’m delighted that you read it. It’s always a pleasure to hear from you, and in any meantime I will think and pray for more good things for you. Lead on, Clarissa!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ClarissaG says:

      Thank you so much, Christopher! I feel it was appropriate to mention my gratitude to all the friends I have made here because if it wasn’t for you and others, it would have been more difficult keeping this blog running. I too feel glad that I have gotten the chance to know you through your writing and our correspondences through comments and replies. Thank you again!

      Like

Leave a Reply

