Day 2: Being Brave

Nov. 2: When was the last time you did something brave? What happened?

When I think of bravery, I can’t think of anything I have done that contributes to that word. Being brave can mean so many different things from saving a person’s life to stepping on that creepy spider in the bathroom.

I guess it’s all in one’s perspective on what bravery really is.

Something that I have done that can be slightly considered brave is standing up for myself.

Being an only child, I grew up not really used to confrontation. I didn’t have to defend myself against siblings or bullies because I didn’t go through those experiences as a child. Not even when I was older in high school or college, things just generally went smooth and I minded my own business and got in no one’s way.

However, I have noticed that after starting graduate school, I have had to learn how to defend myself from other’s…comments.

My patience for these comments had begun to run thin and so once I finally decided to set things straight (albeit it wasn’t harsh) I felt better for doing it. It is possible to stand for my own honor without being rude or disrespectful. Just because someone goes down to that level doesn’t mean I have to follow suit.

I think it makes me better for it. Standing up for yourself is empowering and although it was a baby step, it made me feel good.

 

About ClarissaG

I write what I'm passionate about. I believe in the therapeutic process of writing because it keeps me sane and motivated. This blog is made up of poems, narratives and other musings.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

