NaBloPoMo Start!!

Okay, so as some of you may have noticed…I took the month of October off. Yep, I disappeared for that long even though it wasn’t my intention. SO what I am going to do to make up for that (for you readers and for myself) is to participate in NaBloPoMo this year. I tried it out last year for a few days and then it fell away like most things in my life.

Not this time!

I am going to be committed to write everyday. I need to prove to myself that I can do it. I can’t underestimate it like I did last year. I won’t lose!

Here is the prompt for Day 1 (which was yesterday so I’ll post twice today)

Nov. 1: When you’re having a bad day with your mental health, what do you do to help yourself?

This prompt is rather appropriate since I took a self-care day not too long ago. One of my issues is that I constantly doubt my self-worth and my capabilities and I am not afraid to admit it. No one is perfect; that’s an absolute truth.

When I am not feeling at my best, I like to keep myself in a gentle environment for as long as I can. I do things I enjoy and take it easy in terms of daily activities. Just because your body is capable of doing strenuous work, it doesn’t mean your mind and soul are up to the challenge. I like to light a candle for ambiance, open the shades of my window to see the trees and sunlight and put on some peaceful music (I prefer my Yoga Sanctuary playlist on Pandora).

Being comfortable is key for me. I unabashedly stay in my pajamas all day because:

  1. You don’t have to change clothes when you wake up
  2. They are COZY and COMFORTABLE

Also, I like to keep my diet as clean and as unprocessed as I can have it. Fruits, salads and lots of water help not only the soul but the body feel a little better too.

Oh, and maybe some dark chocolate here and there. 😉

Yoga and self-meditation are important, especially on those days where I am not my best. When I start getting into my darker thoughts, it’s always a battle to dig myself out of that self-deprecating hole. So by practicing yoga or just closing my eyes and thinking of good things, that takes some of that away. It doesn’t magically make things better, but at least by making it my choice to feel better, it is one step closer than if I wasn’t.

My faith helps me when even the sweetest smelling candle has gone out. After I pray, the sun always seems a bit brighter and my chest feels lighter so I can breathe easier. I think about the love that I have in my life and how lucky I am to have it.

Even if things are not working well for you right now, they do get better in time.

Lastly, don’t be afraid or ashamed to hide your emotions. We have them for a reason, to express our inner selves. I believe the best way to honor our own selves is to be as true to who we are and how we feel in the present. Cry if you need to cry. Hit that pillow and sure, go ahead and say that curse word if it will make you feel better.

That’s the endgame to all this, isn’t it?

 

 

About ClarissaG

I write what I'm passionate about. I believe in the therapeutic process of writing because it keeps me sane and motivated. This blog is made up of poems, narratives and other musings.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaBloPoMo Start!!

  1. clcouch123 says:

    I like your self-care day. I appreciate what you do. For our own days, I imagine we (each) can insert the things that have us feel the way you do. I’m also thankful for your validating emotions. In the world, we so easily and foolishly discard them. Even though they don’t go away, because they’re not supposed to.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ClarissaG says:

      Thank you for that. The whole purpose of emotions is so we can feel, regardless of them being positive or negative. We just have to overcome the fear of feeling the bad feelings so we can grow from them.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

