If I’m Being Honest…

Nov. 3: If you could be completely honest with no regrets, what would you say and to whom?

If I said I wanted to be honest with myself, would that be taking the easy way out?

I suppose it would…besides, even though I’m not always 100% honest with myself, it doesn’t mean I’m not aware of everything within myself.

If I could be completely honest..to anyone..it would be to the one person who broke my heart.

I would tell them how their betrayal had affected me and scarred me as I grew up and lived my life feeling inadequate and unworthy. This toxic inferiority complex had reached its peak after I reached my 20’s and now that I am in grad school, I am trying to overcome these issues so I can live my best life.

I don’t know if I am ready for forgiveness.

I know I can’t forget.

But I know I’m not weak for fighting this fight this long..

Maybe I can even be honest with myself when I say that I am strong.


Prompt from BlogHer.com

About ClarissaG

I write what I'm passionate about. I believe in the therapeutic process of writing because it keeps me sane and motivated. This blog is made up of poems, narratives and other musings.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to If I’m Being Honest…

  1. clcouch123 says:

    I could be wrong, but I doubt forgiving means forgetting. Maybe a healthier way to remember. I especially admire this insight: “But I know I’m not weak for fighting this fight this long.” No, not weak. Quite the reverse. Thanks for the honest words, Clarissa. I hope you have a pleasant November weekend.–Christopher

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

