Tomorrow’s the Day…

Election day that is.

As I sit here in front of my laptop, typing away at the keys, I can hear the news from my living room. The constant rattling of news anchors has filled my ears and brain with election buzz for what, 2 years (?) and by tomorrow’s end it will finally all be over. I can have a blissful sigh of relief after relentless talk of emails and tax returns and mudslinging left and right! Finally, the news channels will talk about news again and the world will be all the better for it because we all know it’s not just us Americans who were being affected by the presidential coverage this election year.  Right?

Sike.

While I know this wishful thinking may not be totally realistic, I will be glad that the campaigning for both parties will be over. We seriously need a time limit for these things because I feel drained and left out to dehydrate in the sun like a piece of unwanted jerky due to the 24/7 news coverage. I was reduced to watching reality TV shows in my down time just for the sake of watching something that doesn’t make me want to scream into a pillow. (Unless it’s about the Kardashians. *shudder*)

I know I am not the only one who is frustrated with the way things were handled this year and for my fellow Americans who are as sick and tired as I am, I hope that tomorrow you go and vote for your chosen candidate. (Unless you voted early like I did.)

If you are undecided, think about who will bring about the change you want to see. We all have a voice, and by voting, we give life to that voice. One voice is loud, but a thousand voices is deafening.

It is one of our responsibilities as Americans to go out and vote, that is the entire purpose of our democracy. People have fought for the chance–the right to vote. We have gone through too much turmoil and circumstance as a country to be turned off from participating in this election. With that turmoil has been joy and pride..we are still capable of greater things.

I won’t tell you who to vote for. I’m nobody to persuade you.

Tomorrow is a day that will change the way we live in the US.

Don’t you want to be a part of it? 

(Easily find your polling place with this link)

Find Your Polling Place

About ClarissaG

I write what I'm passionate about. I believe in the therapeutic process of writing because it keeps me sane and motivated. This blog is made up of poems, narratives and other musings.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

