Thoughts After Day 1

I didn’t post yesterday.

I got home late and by the time I was relaxed enough, I was ready for some well deserved sleep. So I made the excuse of being sick and tired. Just mentally, physically and emotionally tired (and still a little sick).

However today I won’t let a stuffy nose stop me from writing. After today’s events what with the protesting and the hate crimes already beginning to escalate, I cannot find it within myself to keep quiet.

While scrolling on Twitter used to be a fun pastime, now it only serves as the horrid reminder of this reality we now live in. I see posts of people describing verbal and physical attacks against them by Trump supporters. There are videos of people showing their vehicles vandalized with derogatory words and TRUMP in capital letters. There are also videos of people beating up elderly and saying they deserved it because they voted for Trump.

This is wrong.

All of this hate is just so wrong. But it’s real.

It’s so real that it hurts and I wish it was just a nightmare. But it’s not.

No one deserves to be ridiculed or threatened because they are a different color or believe in a God other than your own. No human being on this earth has the right to say their religion is the right one.

No one deserves to be hated or demeaned because of what language they speak, who they identify as or who they love.

No one deserves to be treated as inferior just because of what their heritage is.

We all deserve respect.

It hasn’t been easy for me these past few days, and I know it won’t get any easier. I just can’t help but verbalizing my emotions into something tangible and structured because in all this chaos, I need something to remind me in the future that I have a voice and can be heard.

We can be strong in order to persevere.

What am I saying? We ARE strong.

We are strong and kind and won’t stop fighting for what we believe in because that is our right.

It is my right to speak.

It is your right to choose if you want to listen or not. But the important thing is that we ALL HAVE RIGHTS.

I have my beliefs and I believe that it is the good and kind people that make America great.

We are not our political party first. We are not Republican or Democrat first. We are American first.

I am standing my ground and doing what little I can to show my support to all those out there protesting and making their voices be heard.

These words may not be eloquent, they may not be inspiring. But they are mine.

 

About ClarissaG

I write what I'm passionate about. I believe in the therapeutic process of writing because it keeps me sane and motivated.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thoughts After Day 1

  1. Totally with you…every word. And it was inspiring.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

