Going to be Hopeful

This is another post about the election…however it’s not so much about the election itself but my attitude now that it’s over.

Though this may be just the beginning for a new president, I know there are still tremors of fear rumbling throughout the country. There are people that are scared, I can understand why. There are people that are hopeful and I’m trying to understand why.

Even though I’m disappointed in the results, I know this won’t be the last time it will happen. There will be other presidents that I won’t agree with. Statistically, I can be sure of that. For now, the only thing I can do is have faith in my country.

I’m not going to denounce the government because things didn’t work out the way I would have wanted them to. It is the way it is and I have to accept it.

I’m still upset but eventually I will get to acceptance. At least now, I see it as a destination down the road to realization. I’m sure it’s going to be a bumpy road for many people, but that point will come where we say, “Life is still going on. We’re okay.”

I had a chance to vent today during class and although I felt shaky afterwards (my hands were literally shaking) and slightly embarrassed from being so passionate in front of my peers, I felt better just talking about it. Standing on my soapbox and saying my piece helped me reach my own realizations (even if I did call Trump a ‘hairy cheeto’).

Maybe if we just talk about the elephant in the room instead of avoiding it like the plague, we could actually get somewhere with our differences.

Dialogue is a beautiful thing, so if it is at all possible to keep a civil conversation going about any topic that people have differing views on, then by all means we should keep it going. I won’t downplay protesting or other ways of exercising rights, I’m just saying that I believe in the power of talking things out.

Being aware of the problem is the first step to healing and talking helps bring out the awareness.

Thank you for reading.

 

About ClarissaG

I write what I'm passionate about. I believe in the therapeutic process of writing because it keeps me sane and motivated.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

