The Girl

Humble beginnings.
Just we three,
Mom and dad and me.
I’m the girl who befriended Pooh Bear,
Who taught me to always be kind and to share.

My first love was books, that much was plain to see,
My reading was at a second grade level, just after age 3.
I’m the girl that played alone and stayed inside,
Drawing, writing, reading and making friends in my mind.

I was not hurt in these tales that I read,
There was no yelling or fighting on adventures I tread.
I’m the girl that slew the dragons that made her cry,
But more and more came up, no matter how hard she tried.
Rainbows shrouded in rain clouds, innocence fading.
I yearned for happiness,
so I’m the girl who grew up waiting.

At home it was always ‘we’,
and all of the sudden it turned to “three”.
I’m the girl who felt worthless, alone.
And then her heart soon grew to stone.
“I am never enough”, the girl cried.
“Not good, not perfect. I am not wanted.”
Her tears never dried.
I am the girl who couldn’t see reality,
and that caused the death of the innocent me.

Darkness followed as I grew,
learning to hide it from them, and you.
A mask so clean, so precise,
and after so long,
I fooled myself in this guise.

Not all is tragic, for then I soon discovered a bit of magic.

I’m the girl that met a boy,
Broken glasses and scraggly hair.
He taught me friendship and bravery and that magic IS real!
When I touch my heart , I smile… magic is what I feel.
We are what we choose, that is our gift.
I’m the girl who learned this, from the boy who lived.

I’m the girl who fell and got back on her feet,
And found she still had dragons to defeat.
Mask cracked and thrown to the floor,
I’m the girl not afraid to be herself anymore.

I’m the girl who began to live her life.
Helping in any way I could,
Cleaning Mother Earth and healing others wounds.
Music and sports and all the awards,
making up for all that I’ve missed.
I’ve finally found a future to look towards.

I’ve lived my life, so what have I learned?

A little consideration from a silly ol’ bear.
The power of choices from a wizard with messy hair.
To be a shining rainbow in someone else’s storm,
because life can be tough as soon as you’re born.
That laughter and imagination and dreams are forever,
and a symphony is only beautiful when everyone plays together.
That words from books bind us with chains,
linked soul-to-soul, tied by our pain.
Life is ours to create for ourselves,
this is an absolute MUST!
But don’t forget, all it takes is faith, trust,
and a little bit of pixie dust.

© 2017, An Offbeat Bluestocking


Would you look at that, I’m back! After such a long absence I have returned with a poem. This originated from an assignment I did for one of my classes which asked to reflect on my childhood and times in my life that impacted me the most.

About ClarissaG

I write what I'm passionate about. I believe in the therapeutic process of writing because it keeps me sane and motivated. This blog is made up of poems, narratives and other musings.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Girl

  1. Sidharth says:

    My heart melts in amazement witnessing the greatness of your creativity, I was truly mesmerized by the way you evoked such intense emotions and imagery & managed to back it up with a flawless rhyme. Thanks for sharing such a wonderful post! According to your convenience please do read some of my poems they have a rhyme to them as well would love to know what you think about them 😊

    Like

  2. DumCheese says:

    That was amazing!

    Like

  3. Just awesome. With your pixie dust and magic, those dragons you’ll defeat.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

